TGIF!

This week was a short one with Family Day cutting into it on Monday – thank youuuu Canada! And thank you to this magnificent weather we’ve had throughout the week! The snow is melting and it’s starting to look and feel more and more like spring which is an absolute delight👌🏼I spent Family Day with my sister and her dog Piper, and the glorious weather we had warranted a walk along a dyke nearby. Sometimes it takes days like this to really make me appreciate where I live, and this was SUCH a beautiful day.


On another note, I don’t know about you guys, but most of my deepest thoughts occur at night – this excludes my moments of googling a symptom I have at the time and self diagnosing myself with some terrible disease that I clearly don’t have(a real problem!!). The other night I was laying in bed wide awake and got to thinking, mostly about my life and how far I have come in the last little while. I have been discovering new and older passions of mine while embracing my true self, but I also thought about some of the things I am lacking. Comparison is truly the thief of happiness and I think it’s easy to say to yourself “why not me?” but this is the quickest way to get yourself into a negative place…and I’m telling you, if you find you are falling into this pattern, do yourself a favour and dig yourself out of this hole. Choose to flourish and let your experiences shape you and consider them stepping-stones to becoming a better you. 9 times out of 10, whatever is causing you to feel this way probably won’t matter so much a year from now. Be proud of the progress and while it may be easier said than done, try to trust that everything happens for a reason and look for that silver-lining 🙂

This is somewhat of a cliché overused phrase but one that always reigns true..the grass is never greener on the other side, it’s greener where you water it. Manblog-pics-1200x675-greener-grassy of us search for an ideal life that is usually pretty unrealistic, rather than embracing what we have and allowing it to grow. I think one of the reasons for this is because we live in a world that is so consumed by social media and it can quickly cause a lot of self-doubt and comparison. But what’s important to know is that what is portrayed on social media isn’t often a true depiction of a person’s life even if we perceive it that way. We tend to be very selective in what we share with the world, and rightfully so, but each and every one of us struggle, there’s no denying that, even if the struggles aren’t what we advertise.

I decided to make a list of some things that I am currently grateful for, and I am going to make a point to do this more often. I recommend you guys do the same if you feel up to it 😀

1. My family, whom I may not get to spend as much time with as I’d like, but don’t love any less because of it
2. My health
3. My friends who have become family
4. Grandma’s shortbread
5. Yoga and the little studio I’ve found that I absolutely love
6. All the bunnies and puppies of the world
7. And last, but certainly not least, discovering this outlet to spill my thoughts into, which I may still be a little rusty with, but love none-the-less! 🙂

Till next time 🙂

-Amy

2 thoughts on “TGIF!

Leave a Reply

