The Space Between

For those that have been following me from the beginning of this blog, you’ll probably know that I previously mentioned being an auntie to two kiddos, a wonderfully brave, precocious 10-year-old girl Nevada, and an equally precocious and sweet 6-year-old boy Cohen.

14333665_10154540975653552_5528881274340550075_n
Photo credit goes to their mom and my sister 🙂 – how cute are they!?
Nevada has always been a performer and loves to sing, she recently auditioned for a talent show and was one of the 12 kids selected to perform. She will be singing Fight Song by Rachel Platten in front of her entire school….is this kid brave or what?! Now I realize that I may sound biased because I am her aunt, but she is AMAZING! She is so full of artistic and musical talent for a girl her age and never ceases to leave me in total awe. I really admire her courage because it’s something that I definitely struggled with when I was her age…public speaking – no thank you!! So needless to say, I am a pretty proud auntie right now.

As adults we could learn a great deal from kids, their ability to not take life too seriously and how they are so capable of living in the moment without looking so far into the future. Yes, with age comes added responsibility and our outlook on life changes when we’re more in touch with reality, but as we get older it seems like we forget about what we need right now. There is this need to focus so much on a destination, and reach for something in order to feel whole only to be disappointed and let down if we don’t get it. It’s difficult to be truly happy if you’re constantly looking ahead for something that you don’t have rather than enjoying where you currently are in your life.

It’s easy to look at the big picture and see this life that you envision for yourself. As a little girl I knew that one day I would want a family of my own – ideally my 4-year-old self planned on marrying Jordan Knight from New Kids On The Block or Johnny Depp but that didn’t pan out 😉 … I am really working on trusting the “journey” (I’ve watched way too many Bachelor episodes!), enjoying today and focusing on the blessings that have come my way recently. I used to get myself stuck in this space between where I currently was and where I wanted to be, but everything happens for a reason…maybe in order to discover that reason we have to just be. 🙂

-Amy

In the end, she became more than what she expected.
She became the journey,
and like all journeys, she did not end..
She just simply changed directions and kept going.

– R.M. Drake

3 thoughts on “The Space Between

Leave a Reply

