Healthy Lifestyle

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about healthy lifestyle choices. How do you stay motivated? Some people need to stick to one thing at a time and make it a priority while others can have many things on the go and function just fine. As I get older I have come to realize I’m a one-thing-at-a-time kinda person, otherwise I get too bogged down. When I find myself searching for motivation I sometimes need to just remind myself of how great I feel when I am more active and care about what I put into my body. I am not a garbage disposal – I repeat – I am not a garbage disposal! 😉

I found this energy ball recipe a while back and absolutely love it so had to share it with you all because: a) healthy can be tasty too and I can’t keep something this good to myself! b) it curbs a mean sweet tooth and c) it’s full of superfoods that have added health benefits. A Freshii recently opened at a local mall in the city I’m from and I noticed that they sell energy bites with similar ingredients as listed in the recipe below, but of course it wouldn’t be as cost-effective to purchase them there, and you can also modify them to your liking by making them yourself.



No-Bake Energy Bitesno-bake-energy-bites11+srgb.

  • 1 cup (dry) oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup nut butter
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 2/3 cup coconut flakes (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (recipe says optional – I say mandatory)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients together and let set in fridge for ½ hour. Roll into small balls 1 inch in size. Store in air tight container in the fridge. Makes 3 dozen.

 
These are SO good…I’d almost be so bold to say I prefer them over some chocolate bars(some)…and not only are they amaze-balls – there’s always room for a dad joke around here 😉 – they are also packed with nutrients including:

  • Flax seed: 1 tbsp of flaxseed approximates to 8 grams of fiber. It’s also full of healthy fats, and nutrients
  • Peanut Butter: Full of healthy fats and fiber and 1 serving amounts to 7 grams of protein making it a perfect energy boost and also keeping you full throughout the day. Also feel free to sub in a nut-free butter if you’re allergic.
  • Oats: Rich in fiber, protein and nutrients, also known to reduce cholesterol – a big win for me as high cholesterol is in my family.

Give these a go for a somewhat guilt-free healthy alternative! I will warn you though, they are highly addictive! I thought I’d also share my recent nightly yoga routine with you all tonight here as it’s about that time! If you’re like me and have trouble sleeping, this might help you out. I work in an office where I’m primarily sitting for most of the day, and this can really combat tense muscles! 🙂

– Amy

Leave a Reply

