We’re Going To Disneyland!

It’s booked! September 30th to October 5th to be exact, and I am no less excited than I was 17 years ago when I went with my family for the first time. When they say Disneyland is the happiest place on earth, they surely weren’t kidding. I never met a Disney movie that I didn’t like, and if you haven’t either, then perhaps a trip there should be in your near future as well!

For as long as I can remember, I have been a Disney fiend. Being a 90s kid I was fortunate enough to be raised on all things Disney, and I think that’s what has attributed to the wild imagination that I have always had. This will be my 4th trip, and I have to say the most memorable was the one I was lucky enough to take with my niece and nephew a few years ago. Honestly, when you can witness the innocence and unfiltered excitement from a kid, it is quite simply the BEST! We went in the height of the Frozen craze, and my nephew Cohen who was 4 years old at the time, fell in love with Elsa. Prior to meeting her he broke down into tears because he was afraid she wouldn’t like him…this kid ❤ as if that could even be possible! He waited in line for over an hour to meet her and here’s the magical moment I was able to capture when he saw her for the first time 🙂

1982233_10153273915681102_6072777119789959668_n
I meaaaaaan..❤️

The first trip I took however, was many moons ago and was pretty epic… AND worth sharing! It was comparable to a National Lampoon Griswold movie including loads of bad luck and shenanigans but a happy ending nonetheless. I was 12 years old then, and rather than travelling by plane, my parents decided to drive our brand new 25 foot motor home down the coast to California – and to give you a visual, this included all SEVEN of us – myself, my two older sisters, their s/o’s and my parents. My dad was perhaps the most excited of all and upon being questioned where we were off to by the Border Guard, he quickly responded in THE most animated voice “We’re going to DISNEYLAND!!” I truly don’t think I can ever forget the tone of his voice in that moment, it was hysterical and still makes me laugh to imagine it.

10425132_10152846269776079_8528661262467958227_n
Disneyland circa 2000. Including a creepy brother-in-law lurking in the back 😉

The road trip was one for the books, stopping at sand dunes, seeing the Oregon Coast for the first time and having my dad teach me all about “sneaker waves”. It was running fairly smoothly until we discovered the faulty transmission and became stranded on the side of the highway in the middle of nowhere…but by some stroke of luck there was a gas station not much further down the road from where we were and we had a tow truck take us to the local repair shop. This hiccup slowed down our adventure a little but as always, we made the best of it. After 3 days of travel we finally made it to our destination at an RV park, where we would later discover was infested with ants..and wound up with an entire colony inside our motor home. I still cringe remembering the feeling of ants crawling on me in the night..granted the ant traps did end up working – thank the lord!

I can’t wait to make more memories on this next Disney adventure with some of my family and one of the most special parts of all, is that I finally get to experience this magic with my kid-at-heart boyfriend, whom I know will have just as much fun as me! Let the September 30th countdown begin 😀

-Amy

10632715_10152888353286079_6522670373351440205_n
“In this timeless land of enchantment, the age of chivalry, magic and make-believe are reborn and fairy tales come true.” – Walt Disney

 

 

2 thoughts on “We’re Going To Disneyland!

Leave a Reply

