Life As I Know It (for the time being..)

Writer’s block can be a real jerk am I right?? Life has also been exceedingly busy lately, and it’s made it more difficult to take time to dedicate toward my blog – may be a crappy excuse, but it’s the one I’ve got! This year has been a rollercoaster, and right now I feel like I may be at the peak, I got engaged on my Disney vacation(doesn’t get much more magical than that!) so of course I am all twitterpated and distracted – BUT! A friend of mine said I have an excuse to be for at least a solid year now, so I figure I can relish in it for the time being 😉 …and so perhaps life is no longer feeling like a rollercoaster but more so a smooth sailing ride onward and upward with some bumps here and there along the way – there goes my mother’s words again…

I’ve realized that the bulk of my earlier 20s were essentially a part two to my teenage years, maybe this is normal since they’re still somewhat attached…but ohh the melodramatics and the insecurities, and the feeling that your youth is passing you by when you haven’t even come CLOSE to the much greater moments you’ll soon have …of course this is something I can laugh about now but I really didn’t have a clue then. I thought I knew it all, and yet I still had and continue to have so much to learn. This year has truly put new meaning into the expression “this too shall pass”. If it’s taught me anything, it’s to not be too discouraged when you’re at a lower point in your life, because while it may seem impossibly difficult to see that life could turn around, it is strengthening you, and it is helping you become the person you’re supposed to be by testing you in the more challenging moments.

I am privileged to have not had life deal me the cards that some others have been dealt. I really am fortunate and I know that, I also know that each of us have our own misfortunes and we are all entitled to feel emotions no matter how minor they may seem. But then putting things into perspective comes in, and it is always important to consider. There has been an awful lot of tragedy happening in our world as of late, and sometimes it makes me think twice about the negative energy I’m putting toward situations and just how much time can be wasted in doing so, especially over things that in actuality are pretty minor. I am an over thinker, a worrier and I have been known to dwell longer than I should, but I watched a video that was circulating social media recently; I listened to how powerful the words were, and how they posed as a reminder to myself and many others to not allow hatred and evil to overcome us, to instead focus on kindness and unity. It sounds so simple and that’s because it is. Something I’ve realized is that a lot of what each of us have in common is who/what we don’t like, what irritates us and grinds our gears etc. We continue to put more and more negative energy into the world by doing this and feeding into “it”, until it becomes so strong and powerful that we forget about what we are really here for, and what our purpose is. None of us were born prejudice or hateful, it is learned behaviour, and it is behaviour that unfortunately may always exist. That’s not to say that I think we can all float through life without falling short at times, but this video that I watched made me realize how we all have the ability to change and make a difference and to turn our attention to what is more important. Something I will always believe in and preach is love and kindness because it’s simple, it’s effective, and it makes a positive impact on the world around you. Perhaps our world will never be a judge-free zone, but I can say that I will try my best to make a difference if I have the ability to, and I encourage everyone to do the same. If we’re able to have a voice that can be heard, why not use it?

– Amy

22471596_10156642091051102_183417327_n
Venice Beach a week ago…missing this beautiful place today ❤

3 thoughts on “Life As I Know It (for the time being..)

    1. Wow.You have come so far in the past year.You have learned a lot.Finally you can coast a little.Im so proud of you.Life has lots of adventures.Some good and some not so good.But you have direction and stay on track.Lov Dad.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You have the kindest heart ❤️. I swear I couldn’t love you more than I do right now, and yet I know I will tomorrow. I can’t wait to marry my best friend. I love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment